Boycotting

Alas another business has decided to make public their personal beliefs and views on some hot topics, namely LGBT lifestyles and rights. The Salvation Army made public that they don’t support the LGBT community. That all of their donations go to straight people and children, because they don’t agree with the LGBT lifestyle.

It wasn’t that long ago that Chic-Fil-A made a public statement regarding their beliefs. Many people protested and boycotted them during that time. Now they are planing on not donating and boycotting the Salvation Army.

I may or may not agree with a companies personal views, morals, ethics, or beliefs, but that does not mean I will boycott them for standing up for something they stand up for and believe in. When it comes to beliefs, and belief systems I feel they need to be expressed healthily, and respectfully. I feel that we all have different belief systems, and thus we should respect the fact that we are different and believe different things. I wont be boycotting the Salvation Army or any other company that stands up for their beliefs.

I however will choose and have boycotted a company for unethical practices, agendas, and blatant discrimination. I chose to and still continue to choose to avoid and boycott Abercombie because they discrimination of older, larger, and less fortunate people. They have a philosophy and policy that they only want young, skinny, sexy people wearing their clothing line. They made this very public and apparent. In fact they don’t make any of their clothing over a size 8. I feel that is morally wrong, and discriminatory.

So the Salvation Army does not agree with LGBT lifestyles and rights. It’s their belief, think about if the shoe was on the other foot. Would you want those who are not LGBT boycott your business because you don’t agree with their lifestyle and beliefs? Seems silly I know, but that’s the point. Owners of businesses are people still too! They have thoughts, feelings, beliefs, etc. They will run their business in the same manner.

Has the Salvation Army gone too far, as to saying that they don’t want their donations to go to the LGBT community? Maybe, maybe not. They aren’t in the business of helping that particular community of people. They are in the business of helping people get back on their feet, drug rehab, they help the Marines with Toys for Tots, and so many other great causes. Why is everyone up in arms over ONE cause they are not helping? We all have causes we chose to help, because we believe in them. I personally chose to help Samaritans Purse, and Habitat for Humanity, because I believe in their causes. I feel that families who have been put through some major devastation, need some help in picking up, rebuilding, and trying to keep life as normal as possible, if nothing else, for the sake of their children. Does that mean I don’t care about other causes, such as Toys for Tots, or the Angel tree, etc? No, just means, I know that need is meet, year after year, people plan to meet this need. This need is overwhelmed at times from the responses of generous people.

I feel my contributions go further in other organizations that help people for other reasons. Which is why I donated all of my time, energy, money and photos to various places during the Yarnell fire. Which is why I donated to Samaritans purse so they could go up there and help clean up and rebuild. Yes, I’ve had two house fires in my lifetime. (Luckily I was not home for either one, and all I lost was material possessions.) That’s why those causes are near and dear to me, personally. Do I care that the two organizations I donated to are Christian Faith and based? Not really. It’s great they are, and I wholeheartedly support those ministries, but it wouldn’t have mattered to me any different if they were not, or if they were run by the LGBT community. The bottom line is SOME community, SOMEWHERE, had heart and heard a calling to get these organizations together to help those in need. Does it matter what they believe in? For me, no. Does their lifestyle matter? Again, for me, no.

So what if the Salvation Army does not support the LGBT community? For so long they have done SO much good! The continue to do so much good, and they are Angels here on earth. For years to come they will do good, regardless of their beliefs, because there is a need they are answering. I don’t see anyone else standing up to take over, without wanting to make a profit, outside of what covers operation costs. I don’t see a HUGE community of people in any other organization putting people through rehabs, getting people jobs, giving them clothing to go to interviews, helping them learn, giving to children and families during the holidays. The bottom line fact is, the Salvation Army has that heart, has that rapport, has been doing this for a LONG time, and will continue to do so. Does it matter at the end of the day, what they believe in personally? No, it doesn’t. I will however add, that maybe their was taken out of context, it’s possible. People will always infer what they want to infer.

I will say though, I think if you are going to stand up for a cause, and or belief, then stand by it. There is no need to back down. There will always be opposing views and beliefs, that’s just a fact of life. I was slightly bothered by Chic-Fil-A when they recanted their beliefs. Never once did they discriminate and never once did they say that the LGBT community couldn’t eat at their establishments. They loved and served everyone equally. It should have never mattered to begin with what their belief was/is, just that they loved and served all who walked through their door. It should never have mattered who they donated to, or what causes they put money and energy into. You donate to causes that you personally believe in, that somehow, someway aline with your beliefs.

Like I said, it doesn’t matter what MY personal beliefs are, as long as I treat all equally, and as long as I stand for something. I’m more than well aware that there are a number of people who oppose me and don’t share the same beliefs, but that doesn’t mean I love them any less, nor does it mean that I treat them any less. We just disagree. Plain and simple. It would be a pretty boring world, and life if we all agreed on everything, wouldn’t you agree? Sure the thought of utopia may seem fine and nice, but if you love literature, then you know that it’s not all it’s cracked up to be as we have read from “The Giver.”

The next time you want to boycott a business because of their belief, just think for one second, are you boycotting them for a practice that is discriminatory, or for a belief? What is their track record? What is their foundation? Let’s really think about these things before joining the knee jerk reactions and hoping on the band wagons.

I know this is my Exploring Motherhood blog, and it’s about exploring motherhood, and as I have said before, sometimes motherhood is about exploring yourself and figuring out who you are. This topic is as much that, as it is, how I want to raise my children, and form their beliefs. I want my children to be independent thinkers, and really think about their actions, their beliefs, what they stand for, or don’t stand for. I want them to be able to analyze something entirely, thoroughly before making a concrete decision. In the way that I do it, I would love to see them do it. Which is why I lead by example. I show them what I do, and explain to them what I am doing, so they can form that good habit right away. No age is too young. That’s my core belief. Sure they may not understand you, nor have ANY idea what you are talking about, but, at least you are trying, and one day, they will understand. I don’t want my children to react off of knee jerk reactions, or join band wagons, when they have no deep understanding as to why they are, I want them to fully understand the entirety of it, before they make their decision.

Like I said, my personal views and beliefs aside, because I feel that if I even go into mine it will completely skew the point of this post, I absolutely feel that a belief is not something you should boycott.

Leave a Reply

